The National Association of Collegiate Esports (NACE) is a nonprofit membership association organized by and on behalf of our member institutions.

What is NACE?

The National Association of Collegiate Esports (NACE) is a nonprofit membership association organized by and on behalf of our member institutions. Together, our members are developing the structure and tools needed to advance collegiate esports in the varsity space. We are collaborating to lay the groundwork in areas such as: Eligibility, Path to Graduation, and Competition & Scholarships. NACE is the largest member association of varsity esports programs at colleges and universities across the U.S.

  • 240+ member schools
  • 5,000+ student-athletes
  • $16 million in esports scholarships and aid
  • Annual national convention
  • Private discord server (voice-over software) for athletic directors, coaches, and more

This is the Beginning.

NACE officially formed on July 28, 2016 at the first ever Collegiate Esports Summit held in Kansas City, MO. At that time only seven colleges and universities had varsity esports programs. Since then a rapidly growing number of institutions have launched varsity programming, with a current count of 170+ institutions. As of June 2019, over 94% of all varsity esports programs in the U.S. are members of NACE with an ever increasing number of schools exploring esports.


Who are we?

Our leadership rests with our Board of Directors, administrators elected from our member institutions.

Board of Directors:

Sari Kitelyn

Full Sail University

Jim Carr


Travis Yang

Syracuse University

Dr. Tiffany Ford

Ozarks Technical Community College

Eugene Frier

Texas Wesleyan University

Danielle Sirekis

Florida Institute of Technology

Shaun Byrne

St. Clair College

Daniel Clerke

Maryville University

Karen Ruggles

Deslaes University

Chris Bilski

Michigan State University

Competition Council:

Chase Neukam

St. Cloud State

Byron Hinson

Old Dominion University

David Dickert

University of Southern Mississippi

Alyssa Duran

Shenandoah University

Henry Johnston

Clarke University

Chris Funston

St. Clair College

Danny O’Connell

University of Kansas

Jono Eaton

Michigan State University

Hubert Whan Tong

Simpson College

Colin Graham

Davenport University

Travis Lynn

Shawnee State University

Eligibility Enforcement Committee:

Riley Long

Grand Valley State University

Alec Mueller

Ashland University

Daniel Nowaczyk

Kettering University

Dennis Bubrig

University of Southern Mississippi

Zachary Allor

Kansas Wesleyan University

Colin Tracy

Columbia College

Miles Dean

George Fox University

NACE National Office Team:

Michael Brooks

Executive Director

Michael Jones

Director of Operations

Joshua Myers

Director of Competition

Nathan Mercurio

Marketing Communications Manager

Scott Rarden

Director of Business Intelligence